Going out to dinner with food allergies… Success!

We are going out for a family dinner tonight. Yay, no cooking or cleaning, tonight i’ll be served! So, I called the restaurant ahead of time and told them to take note of our child having a severe dairy allergy. I always make myself very clear about it and I don’t care how many times I have to repeat myself. I then, of course will make our server and the chef aware and ask about dinner options, once we are there. You can’t be too careful and I want my son to enjoy dinner out with us and the finer things in life.

Also, when we do go out to dinner, I will take along a container of my sons vegan butter spread, along with some of his dairy free bread. That way he can enjoy bread and butter, while we wait. Who doesn’t love bread and butter, especially out at a restaurant, I know I can’t resist.

Finally, If you or anyone may want some coffee or dessert, it’s smart to also bring a dairy free dessert with. If you can’t whip something up, then bring some dairy free cookies or chocolates. That way, no one is ever left out and everyone can enjoy a nice dinner out, from start to finish. So, you see just be prepared and things will go smoothly. You too can have a normal night out, that the whole family can enjoy…

Best regards, Mamma Bear

Leave a Reply

